Some people believe that it is the responsibility of politicians, rather than individuals, to reduce the world's environmental damage. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As climate change and global warming are causing more natural hazards than ever, it is often argued that politicians should take on more responsibility than individuals to tackle the damages made by human beings. In the following essay, I will explain why I disagree with this viewpoint. First of all, although politicians play a leading role in acting on actions such as passing bills to prevent deforestation or raising the public's low-carbon awareness, in making these practices effective, they still need appreciation and support from their people to achieve good results. For example, if people stop using plastic bags, the companies that manufacture such products will switch to eco-friendly substitutes to survive in the market. Therefore, residents are essential to this process. Moreover, numerous research has pointed out that human activities have direct negative impacts on the environment. For instance, animal husbandry is one of the significant contributors to greenhouse gas, our desire for all sorts of products results in plastic pollution, and the excessive need for cash crops such as coffee and soybeans has led to forest exploitation. It is evident that our greed and desire have caused a massive burden on planet Earth. Therefore, whoever creates a problem should resolve it. Small actions such as recycling more, buying more energy-efficient household items, and using renewable energies can make a huge difference in securing our environment. In conclusion, given that we all live on the same planet, if anything disastrous should happen, no one is getting away with it. As a result, everyone, along with cooperations, governments and the international community, is obligated to protect the environment.