More and more people today expect to get what they want instantly (goods, services, news), without having to wait. Why is this ? Do you think this a positive or negative development?

People are expected to obtain what they need in a reduced time in today’s technology-focused world. Instant gratification can be caused by easy access to items and advertising campaigns, and I share the view that it has negative implications for two reasons. An increasing number of individuals are getting used to attaining things as quickly as possible due to the pervasive availability of goods and advertising. Firstly, virtually everything, even products that may have been impossible to find in certain periods of the year, is accessible to people, and modern technology has enabled goods to be delivered to the doorsteps of customers. Secondly, promotional advertising campaigns have a significant contribution to the situation that people wish to acquire items instantaneously. In fact, they have the power of influencing consumer’s minds, driving them to expect to attain things in a short span of time. Furthermore, I tend to see this trend in a negative shade. Although some people might argue that a certain number of goods and services, such as first-aid or nourishment, should readily be available to consume for human well-being, I would argue that instant gratification should be rendered as adverse as it can lead to throw-away culture. If people get what they want instantaneously, they can hardly appreciate these items, resulting in throw-away behaviour. This is, in turn, a great threat to the environment. Apart from this, the feeling of overall dissatisfaction about life may arise in those individuals who have easy access to items because they can hardly find items continuously enjoyable if they can get what they want instantaneously. In conclusion, easy access and advertisements may propel people to instant gratification, whereas I believe that it is a negative trend as it can lead to throw-away culture.