Some people say that there is too much harmful content on the internet. They say the only way to make the internet safe is for the government to censor the content of websites. To what extent do you think the government should control what information is available on the internet?

Due to enhancement of the internet utilisation by an individual on a daily basis, the demand for content created and posted on websites has increased abundantly. Some people believe that because of higher, demand the quality of data available is deteriorating and causing detrimental effects on people, especially youth, thus government censorship is a must. I also concur with this statement and believe there should be rules and regulations regarding the information presented on these platforms. Firstly, because of the advancement in optic fibre, high-speed internet is readily available globally, thus every person can publish their stories, information, and views on various websites without thinking of consequences which are damaging to society. For example, videos of human cruelty, murder and racism can be found on numerous mediums, which can cause serious harmful effects on the young generation. Moreover, authorities can make and implement laws and regulations on data presented on digital media so that harmful content can be either removed or restricted from the public. On the other hand, some people believe that governing bodies are unable to control everything on social media, thus it is parents' responsibility to check as well as control their children so that they do not watch inappropriate stuff. For instance, make sure the kids are downloading games and videos according to their age. Furthermore, every human has a right to represent and state their views on social media, if the federal controls the internet it seems a breach of the right to speech. Additionally, the government can misuse their power and the corruption and unethical side of organisations will not come in front of the general public. To conclude, I believe the situation is not black and white, there should be a shared responsibility between the administration as well as individuals to control the exposure of the internet on their kids.