In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

It is undeniable that life expectancy has been increasing in recent years in numerous countries. Although it is sometimes thought that longer life expectancy is so problematic for governments, other people argue that the positive effects of the ageing population on society should not be neglected. In my opinion, the disadvantages of increased life expectancy outweigh the benefits. On the one hand, the pitfalls of staggering growth in the proportion of older people should be considered. To begin with, the ageing population can impose tremendous pressure on the economy of countries. This means that a great deal of the national budget of a country should be allotted to the pensions of retired people. Secondly, a great ratio of old people who are diagnosed with serious diseases most of the time might need exorbitant medical treatment, which creates an insurmountable problem for the healthcare system. The prevalence of lung cancer, for example, which is cured by expensive chemotherapy soars among old generations. On the other hand, many people claim old generations have affected our lives beneficially. Firstly, since old people can get involved in decision-making processes with more expertise because of their hands-on experiences, the insoluble dilemmas, which might be encountered in life, can be overcome more smoothly. As a result, with their vast knowledge, they can contribute to some sectors such as management and politics. In addition, the old generations have a great importance in maintaining national traditions. In other words, a majority of customs, which tend to be forgotten, can be taught to younger generations by old people who are masters in them. This, consequently, would survive the national heritage of a country greatly. In conclusion, weighing both sides of the argument, I would say that although there are some benefits related to this issue including using their experiences and maintenance of traditions, the drawbacks like economic repercussions and difficulties for the healthcare system outweigh.