Some people think that the media should be for entertainment only, while others believe that media should have educational values. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some people argue that entertainment is the only benefit that media can provide, others believe that media is also valuable in the educational aspect. This essay will discuss both of these views; however, I personally agree with the second one that the media should add education to their programs. On the one hand, the media tends to be the most common channel for people to relax and let their hair down after running a daily rat race. It can be explained by the fact that numerous entertainment programs on any media platform account for dominant choices when compared to other programs, such as news, sports, or documentaries. However, this line of reasoning is not sound because there have been other better options for entertainment recently, for instance, outdoor activities, shopping, and hanging out with friends rather than immersing in media. Thus, this very fact renders the idea that media should be for entertainment only unreasonable. To add further credence to my assertion, I note that educational values produced by the media are really potent. The prime reason for this is that technological advancements in modern times support media as a learning and teaching method vividly and attractively. For example, novel features like videos and voice recordings make online media platforms a great channel for knowledge's translation for many learners around the world who can access it conveniently with the Internet anytime and anywhere. In conclusion, it is a mistake to assume media is just for entertainment because there are many prospective aspects that media can promote helpfully, particularly education, which brings tremendous advantages to human development. Therefore, the media should incorporate more educational programs into their functions in order to enhance people's insight.