Some people believe that the internet is increasing the gap between the rich and the poor, while others argue that it helps to reduce this gap. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The Internet is an important innovation because it acts as a major factor in the socioeconomic growth of the rich and the poor. There is a debate regarding whether the Internet can reduce or increase the divide between the rich and the poor. In my opinion, the internet has increased this gap more than it has reduced it. Some individuals claim that the Internet plays a role in increasing the disparity in wealth between the rich and the poor because of inadequate access to the Internet in rural areas. As a result, decreasing their chances to get digital resources and skills. For example, it hinders school children from learning the tech skills that are crucial to success in today’s economy. Internet speed has important effects on media access. Rural areas have low internet speed, therefore, acting as an obstacle in streaming news channels. Thus, limiting them from accessing important news about the world. Others argue that it reduces the difference by the availability of smartphones. Poor people living in the cities can afford to buy smartphones through which they can access the internet. They can also gain knowledge by enrolling in affordable online courses. These courses further give them an opportunity to get a job and take themselves out of poverty. In conclusion, this inequality continues to grow due to the inaccessibility and low speed of the internet which has deprived people of opportunities in rural areas. Therefore, I believe that the ways the internet has increased the gap are far greater than the ways it reduced it.