Some people say that there is too much harmful content on the internet. They say the only way to make the internet safe is for the government to censor the content of websites. To what extent do you think the government should control what information is available on the internet? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is a fact that the internet is full of dangerous data and used to do illegal activities, therefore a part of the population believes that authorities should have the power to block any information that may harm the public. I agree with this opinion if the censoring process is performed in democratic and secular nations, however, I consider giving such power to totalitarian regimes and theocratical dictatorships will produce a negative impact on the freedom and privacy of their populations. On the one hand, giving the administrations the control they need to stop any sites that are run by organised crime or terrorist groups will help law enforcement and keep society safe and peaceful. Moreover, the ability to delete any false information and shut down the crooks sites, will enhance the online surfing experience and make it safer for everyone. For instance, the Dutch police stopped last year more than 300 terrorist schemes, 12 illegal drug deals, and 5000 online false sites. On the other hand, giving dictatorships the power to censor any site against their political agenda, will destroy the opposition's opportunity to inlight people about their rights and encourage them to uprise against tyranny. Furthermore, if theocratic Governments are able to erase all scientific sites and logical thinking platforms to keep controlling people's way of life and thinking, then the activist efforts to reach freedom will be doomed. For example, the current situation in Iran and Russia, where people are not allowed to read any books about democracy and Western politics, and can not find any information about that on the internet because the governments have blocked such data. In conclusion, I believe that allowing democratic authorities to censor dangerous and criminal websites is a logical act, in contrast to giving such power to totalitarian rulers which will reduce people's opportunities for freedom and safety.