Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources, to what extent do you agree or disagree.

Driven by industrialization and other human activities, the living space of wild animals has decreased to a large degree. As a result, some people argue that saving their lives can waste resources that are precious to us. From my perspective, I am not in favour of this opinion, believing that those creatures are deserved to be well-protected. People who harbour this view reckon that the protection of wild animals is useless and worthless for human beings, thus it should spend funds and effort on other important issues, such as medical care, military defence and so on. After all, humans reign supreme on the earth, being able to revolutionize the whole world, and there are a great many problems unaddressed in our society. For example, at least 0.5 million Americans are homeless, therefore they are in want of shelter and necessities. If the money and space allocated to animal protection were granted to those in need, it cannot only improve their living standard, but reduce crimes caused by poverty. On the other hand, wildlife protection is by no means wasting time and effort. For one thing, all animals on the planet are equal, deserving to live with us. As a member of the global community, it is our responsibility to preserve as much wildlife as we can, thereby maintaining a diversified world by investing in necessary resources. For another, without wild animals, it will pose a threat to sustaining human life. For instance, rain forest, which play a key role in the ecosystem that keeps the earth up and running, will disappear if all wild creatures were eliminated, because it largely relies on animal activities. In conclusion, protecting wild animals from distinction contribute greatly to the survival of humankind, which is not wasteful but beneficial to everyone.