Foreign visitors should pay more than local visitors for cultural and historical attractions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Overseas travellers are claimed to be charged more than locals to visit landmarks of cultural and historical value. Although charging foreigners higher fees can support conservation and reduce overcrowding, I believe that such pricing could hinder sustainable tourism and equality among nations. Local infrastructure and conservation campaigns can be effectively managed by implementing higher rates for international visitors. Firstly, sites of historical and cultural significance require noticeable maintenance and preservation efforts, and local people are already contributing to this process by paying taxes. Therefore, it is considered fair to maintain equality among host countries and non-local guests if they pay at different rates. Additionally, introducing elevated fees for foreign tourists can prevent overcrowding of destinations of historical and cultural importance. In fact, implementing augmented prices for non-local tourists may, to some extent, deter people to visit those places, minimalizing the wear and tear of these spots. Conversely, I share the view that applying increased charges for visitors from abroad may provoke negative public perception about host countries. As foreign people are charged more than the local population to enter historical and cultural landmarks, it can discourage them to choose these places as a holiday destination the next time, and they will hardly suggest them to other people. This leads to disruption to sustainable tourism development, devastating many countries ’ economies since the tourism industry plays a significant role in most countries today. Furthermore, I am of the view that equity in charge for both locals and foreigners may promote equality and inclusivity among governments. In fact, it is crucial for countries to maintain decent international relations, and tourism can play a great role here because it is the most common way for countries to exchange cultures with each other. Thus, the experience foreign people gain visiting another country may influence that country’s reputation, and reflect future relationships between the two. In conclusion, implementing increased prices for foreign visitors can seem applicable due to the support it provides to the infrastructure and conservation programs of host countries; however, I would not agree with this, as it can discourage equality among nations.