In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this .

Nowadays, travelling around the world is becoming increasingly popular. Several states encouraged young people to work or travel for a year before starting university. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of such endeavors and give example. In more details, in this generation travelling becomes easier and affordable. There are lots of young adults who are travelling with friends and family. Encouraging younger generation to travel has a beneficial effect and will broaden their perspective in life. It will offer them new possibilities, they can meet new people and can learn more outside their comfort zone. It will mature their minds and experienced something that they never had before. For instance, If I travel to US, I will become aware of the difference in culture and lifestyle. The way people live their lives, new language thus will give me an opportunity to learn. Younger people have the ability to absorb new information fast. At the time that I go back to my country and enter university, with this knowledge that I accumulated is an edge towards my future. However, the downside is that, the student might not want to enter college after, experiencing and having a job. For example, during summer break I will work as a cashier in a convenient store. I will get paid and receive my salary. Now, I can buy what I want and what I need. As a younger adult, I will realize that, I can earn money even without entering the academy. Why would I make myself suffer? To conclude, travelling or working prior to entering university have its costs and benefits. It might either encourage them to study and learn or distract them, thus prefer to work and earn money.