In recent years, many governments have brought in laws to ban smoking in public places, such as bars, restaurants and offices. To what extent do you agree or disagree with banning smoking in public places?

Nowadays, many people have a bad habit of smoking. Recently, many regimes have imposed rules and regulations to prohibit smoking in common areas. I strongly agree with the above opinion, due to the fact that it directly assists in reducing the health risk for society and decreasing pollution. To commence with, one of the prime benefits of enacting commandments on smoking is reducing the health risks for society. Smoking in public spaces escalates the health risk immensely, not only for the smokers but also for the non-smokers nearby. For instance, a recent research finding disclosed that smoking is the main cause of lung cancer and heart attacks. Further, it reveals that 57% of people prefer to stay away from smokers,in order to avoid the health risk for non-smokers. In addition, the other main advantage is it results in a reduction of pollution and leads to the conservation of the ecosystem, and also both flora and fauna. The commandments mainly reduce air pollution and also decline the irregular dumping of the remaining cigarettes directly into the environment, which harms the surrounding living things. For example, authorities found more than 500 cigarettes remaining in the beach area in Colombo. Moreover, it will help many people to minimise their addiction to smoking, which will greatly reduce air pollution, and provide us with more fresh air to inhale. In conclusion, I believe enacting this law will greatly reduce the health hazard to society and provide support to safeguard the flora and fauna. This would be a great achievement for both the state and the public.