Some children spend a long time each day on the smartphones. Why is this? Is this a positive or a negative development?

Some juveniles are addicted to smartphones for longer hours. This is because juveniles are exposed to entertainment through different streaming apps. It is definitely a drawback for the growth of the children. Children find the videos on various platforms so irresistible that they spend the entire day watching one after another without thinking. The colourful visuals glue their attention throughout, which indirectly affects their brain. For example, Netflix has designed specific shows to entice children by creating a clickbait for them to automatically click the next one. The juveniles are having a negative impact from the over-utilisation of smartphones as they do not spend quality time with their siblings and family. Previously, in the joint family system, the children were taken care of by the various members of the family which gave them no time for entertainment. But in recent times, kids are growing up in the nuclear family because of this the parents have the sole responsibility of inculcating values and manners. Because of the smartphone, addiction the latter is getting difficult to do it. In conclusion, videos on phones are irresistible for minors.