Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, kids consume much time daily on their mobile phones for several reasons. In this essay, I’ll discuss why they do so in addition to the causes of considering it a negative development from my perspective. While smartphones are widely used worldwide, it’s considered a double-edged weapon. First of all, children spend hours playing games, watching YouTube and listening to music; however, very few proportions of them use it for their benefit. To illustrate, parents are becoming busy doing their work, whereas children have much free time and quality time. In addition, some families are not concerned with teaching them a new hobby or taking them to the club for the sake of learning new sports besides communication skills. Accordingly, the only shelter for them becomes their smartphones. Although the various advantages of smartphones, it negatively affects children medically, mentally and educationally. Firstly, looking at smartphones could make them lose their eyesight. Moreover, with frequent use, smartphones could become an addiction like drugs, therefore affecting their studies and focus on obtaining a deep-rooted education. Provided that fathers and mothers gave due care to them, by organizing their free time doing advantageous activities and limiting their time use, such problems will definitely be overcome. Consequently, the whole family has a vital role in spectating the children. For instance, mobile applications which enable parents to observe their children's usage of mobile phones are available. In conclusion, I believe that using smartphones frequently with children is obviously a disadvantage. Huge efforts must be exerted by the family to prevent the outbreak of the numerous effects of smartphones on their kids.