In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decides to do this.

Education plays a great role in the development of a student in various ways and takes them to heights. Youngsters are advised to go to different places or spill their sweat before moving out of their schooling and getting into graduation in most countries. In my opinion, there are lots of advantages and disadvantages to this action which will be elaborated on in detail in this essay. Working and travelling before starting university studies will help scholars to explore the various kinds of people, places, cultures and many more which in turn will help them to learn new things with better understanding. They will know about work cultures beforehand and this will prepare them to tackle the situations in their graduation and future workplace as well. Moreover, this will elevate their confidence to a large extent which will help them to reach their goal soonest. For example, one of my closest relatives who got a chance to work in another state prior to his admission to college has come back to his home with immense fire to enter into his new beginning. As said earlier, this action will definitely have negative consequences. Firstly, pupil can lose track during this experience and can get trapped in varied bad activities like drug abuse which will spoil their life. Secondly, this can also make them think to settle for less so that they can earn money for living and get settled life. This will eventually change their mindset completely and make them greedy for money. Overall, working and travelling will help freshers to improve themselves in numerous ways but this step can also lead them into many danger zones as well.