Which of the following activities do you think will be the most beneficial to the environment? (1) Commute by biking or walking (2) Recycling (3) Eating a vegan diet

Options are available when it comes to saving the environment and incorporating activities to amend and heal the world would entail tremendous efforts. Such activities would include commuting without cars, reusing materials, and consuming less meat. The choices given are interconnected though and through this essay, I shall explain why. Exercising like riding a bicycle or walking is a common act one has to do to achieve optimal health. However, that is not the only benefit we can attain from this. By using the bicycle as a main method of transportation, we could lessen carbon emissions by approximately 50-60% since fewer people would use cars or motorcycles. Although there might be a chance citizens would use public transport more, and thus, the numbers would rise to about 60-70%, it is still a risk worth taking. Nowadays, the use of plastic materials is rampant. Whether we use it for food storage or shopping, it poses a great threat to our environment. In turn, a lot of animals and plants suffer from this. Sea turtles, for instance, would mistake plastic cellophane for food and without any second thoughts would eat it. Likewise, if plants were to be affected too, there would be a possible decline of active ingredient sources since most of them come from plants. And if it does, then making such drugs would become an issue as well. Choosing to be a vegan would not be as much beneficial in saving the environment if global warming would not be prevented any further. Animals and plants would be affected due to the greenhouse effect, thus, would increase forest fires in some places of the earth. If that were to happen, these animals and plants would be in danger and food choices would be scarce. By and large, I believe that by minimizing the usage of vehicles and recycling non-biodegradable materials, we may have a chance in saving our dying planet.