Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

School education contributes greatly to the development of children, which thus fuels a debate that the role played by homework. While some people argue that students should have all their free time after school, I agree with the opinion that the proper amount of homework is still necessary. On the one hand, schoolchildren should not be placed more burden at home when they have spent the whole day at school, and they need time to unwind and do something preferred. For example, many students enjoy playing football and basketball, which cannot only strengthen their bodies but bring their potential into full play. As a matter of fact, many talented players took a great amount of time playing the game when they were young. If, however, there is too much schoolwork needed finishing, children enjoying sports or other interests have to immerse themselves in subjects such as literature and math which may not be useful for them in the future. On the other hand, homework is one of the major motivators for the academic performance of students. After all, for most of us, schooling is the most important path to achieving success with landing decent jobs or starting our own businesses and schoolwork can help students lay a solid foundation for learning. Not only can it review what they learnt at school, but functions as a means of solving problems independently, which makes them better understand knowledge and put them into practice, thus having a good command of them. Furthermore, children may invest all of their time in video games or loafing on the streets when they do not have any homework, which in turn exerts a negative influence on them. In conclusion, although I agree that schoolchildren should have some spare time to do what they want, it is better to assign them homework properly so that they are able to strike a balance between leisure and study.