It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation?

It is indisputable that nowadays there are plenty of shops available in the town. Despite that many shops can provide the same quality and price of commodity, it is difficult for small local shops with one-line branches to compete with giant supermarkets. In fact, this has a great impact on the local communities which will be discussed in this essay as well as suggest a number of possible solutions. Some large chain shops are offering unbeatable prices and high qualities products which gravitates a bundle of consumers eventually. This can have a negative impact on other local shops who can't compete with them. Consequently, a plenty of these shops located a proximal to these supermarkets will phase out eventually. In other words, workers will loss their job and face inability to provide the essential livelihood for their families. In addition, it will create unequal competition between traders due to this monopoly policy. On the other end of the scale, governments should step up and take actions to control this problem. In other words, applying strict rules on giant supermarkets that prohibit any unfair offers that may affect alternative shops. For instance, when a supermarket offers items with lower prices, customers will buy from them and stop going to the small ones. In addition, individuals should be aware that it is essential to have a wide variety of options in shops. Hence, they need to visit different stores and purchase from them. In conclusion, when large shops are attracting more people than others, this causes detrimental issues between traders. Thus, governments and nations should ensure steps are taken to prevent this phenomenon from deteriorating further.