Crime rate, in most countries, is often higher in urban areas than in rural areas. Why do you think that is? What can be done to reduce the crime rates?

The debate surrounding the percentage of criminal activities in the countryside is a complex and nuanced topic. Despite having less population than the city areas, there has been an increased crime rate over the years. This essay will describe some factors that contribute to the higher risk of criminal activities in the countryside. In this essay, I will also explain some strategies to reduce the rates. Firstly, on the one hand, it can be said that there are fewer people in remote areas, which could be due to things, such as fewer infrastructures and job opportunities. Such conditions can limit the access of law enforcement to be limited. Therefore, offences will likely be less reported and detected, which can be hard to manage and potentially spiral out of control. In addition to this, socioeconomic factors can also lead to such high offences. It is argued that potentially poor education may lead to negative social impacts, such as unemployment and poverty. And therefore, with a low number of police forces, this situation will be exacerbated. For this reason, in order to strike a balance to minimise the injustice rates, there are some multifaceted approaches that needed to be done. First, a good amount of police in the area is essential in increasing their visibility. Thus, the more securities there are in the area, the better response times will be for any kind of misdemeanours. Secondly, a collaboration between law enforcement and the community such as the leaders and residents is crucial. As this connection can bridge the gap and foster positive interactions between them. For example, within the meetings, they might consider some actions that not only make everyone safe but also empower the community. And for this reason, every individual can get a sense of belonging and togetherness, which in the long run, can reduce unlawful acts. To conclude, in spite of the low population, unlawful activities in the countryside have been increasing. Not only due to the scarcity of prosecution but socioeconomic can also be a factor in the rising trend. Nevertheless, things such as more security forces and neighbourhood engagements can potentially combat the situation.