Is it good for children to start using computers from an early age and spend long hours on them? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages. Explain your choice by using specific reasons and detail.

The debate surrounding the usage of computers at such young age is a complex and nuanced topic. Despite the benefit of technology in children, the downfalls of early exposure cannot be overlooked. This essay will describe the benefits and drawbacks of gadgets and what are some of the things that I think we can do to make a striking balance. On the one hand, technology can offer several benefits for children when used appropriately. Firstly, it provides varieties of educational resources such as interactive learning apps and educational videos. As they generally come with fun sounds and colourful animations, these tools are not only engaging but may also support their literacy and numeracy competence. Secondly, an early introduction to modern devices can promote digital literacy skills, which can eventually help them when using modern gadgets at school. For instance, they can understand how to navigate the interface, use a touchscreen and operate basic functions. However, on the other hand, some can argue that early and particularly excessive exposure to modern devices can be problematic. For example, too much screen time can hinder their linguistic ability and social interactions, which are crucial for their early development in order to grow and learn. In addition to this, extended on-screen sessions can lead to sedentary lifestyles, which can lead to chronic illnesses such as obesity and cardiovascular disease. To adjust the negative sides, it is essential to establish clear guidelines and communicate those to the children. For instance, set specific limits on the duration and timing of on-screen sessions such as during meals and bedtime. It is also important to be consistent to support them in following the rules. To conclude, in spite of the benefits of having early interactions with the modern world including educational resources and digital literacy, there are some rules that needed to be implemented in order to minimise the risks of chronic illnesses and delayed development abilities. It should be limited and the rules must be consistent.