If children behave badly should their parents take responsibility and also be punished? State your answer and give your reasons. OR If a five year old commits a crime, should his/her parents accept responsibility and how should they be punished. What is the age of a child when parents no longer have the responsibility of a child’s behavior?

People have different opinions about whether everyone who committed a particular type of crime should receive a fixed punishment or the punishments should vary due to the different circumstances in which the crime has been committed. I agree with the second view to some extent. I believe that although the first approach has some merits, the second one would be more beneficial to society. It is true that not every crime takes place as a result of the same situation and reason, and judges should be aware of that when suggesting a punishment. There are several reasons why every criminal’s punishment should be discussed individually. Firstly, everyone has a different motivation, and unless we consider their condition when punishing them, we might exacerbate the problem. For example, if a man has stolen money as a result of poverty and starvation, then prison may not be the consequence that prevents him from doing that again. That is because being in a safe place and being provided with enough food seem to be more of a reward. If a wealthy person, on the other hand, has stolen money to terrify people or to feel empowered, prison would be the best option for him. Another significant point supporting this approach is that some people suffer from mental illnesses, and that is the reason they commit crimes. I believe that since they are not completely in control of their actions, it is not fair to punish them in the same way that we punish mentally-stable people, and the court should obligate them to receive therapy, rather than putting them in prison, or even execute them. Establishing fixed punishment laws, on the other hand, has some benefits to society. When thinking about the advantages, the first thing that comes to mind is that it is in favour of equality. To explain more, some people would say that the courts do not represent the perfect justice. They might argue that the judges can make mistakes, and they should not have the complete power to decide on the punishment based on their perception of the crime’s motivation and how valid they believe it is. In conclusion, I restate that although there must be some considerations regarding justice and the capability of judges, the benefits of considering each criminal’s unique situation outweigh the drawbacks.