Some people say the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that tourism and immigration are solely the reason why people choose to gain new language skills, but there are some other benefits of being multilingual, e.g. making social connections in addition to stimulating the brain cells of children. On one side, it is understandable that learning a new language has been reserved for travel and immigration purposes. As it has become significantly popular to travel nowadays and the citizens of certain countries such as France, the Middle East and Germany are known for limited English skills, forcing visitors to learn the basics in these languages prior to their visits, whether it is for business or pleasure. Therefore, some people feel obligated to take classes in these languages to ease communication with the locals. I personally believe tourism and immigrating for work are the main reasons for individuals learning a second or third language, as in my own experience with the English language. On the other hand, learning a new language has also been shown to be beneficial for various reasons. It has been scientifically proven that bilingual children have higher intelligence in comparison to monolinguals, which has pressured more parents to use private tutors to teach their youngsters one of the dominating languages such as Chinese and Russian. Secondly, the technological advances we have made are somehow contributing to the growing popularity of languages. Even though they are in different places, individuals of all ages are connecting through social media networking, creating great curiosity in each other in terms of culture and language, which again leads to the formation of long-lasting friendships, or romantic relationships. When this happens, they are encouraged to learn each other's language. In conclusion, travellers and immigrants make up most of the learners of foreign languages, but I believe this issue is currently receiving a lot of attention due to its significant effect on the brain development of a young child. Additionally, another positive advantage of having access to a foreign language is that it widens one´s possibilities of making new friends