Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In our current time, an increasing amount of people with health issues are attempting to use alternative medications and treatments instead of visiting their usual medical professional. I think this development should be viewed negatively, as this act may lead to a misusage of drugs and health equipments, which can be quite dangerous. Besides this, many medical misinformation may be spread among people, potentially resulting in a major health crisis. Refraining from usual visits to doctors can lead to an improper use of medicine. This is because without a professional's prescription, a patient is very likely to overdose or underdose a certain medicine, and in many cases even use the wrong one. Threats that come from wrong treatment can be worse than the ones it was done for. A traumatizing example that convinces me that this change is negative, is when an uncle of mine had an extremely serious arm tumor that was growing rapidly. He refused to visit the doctor until his situation became a life-or-death. Sadly, his arm had to be cut off, which would have not been the case, according to the doctor, if he had visited for advice earlier. Another reason is that forces me to believe that the said development is bad, is the possible growth of wrong advice amongst socities. If individuals practice wrong treatment methods, and these methods somehow work for them, they will most likely share their practice with others. A common fatal beleif back when the plague was present in Europe was that hugging others allowed one to heal from the disease. This increased the infection rates. In conclusion, quantities of unhealthy people are avoiding visiting doctors for advice, instead they are applying different treatment methods and medicines. I see this as a negative development, as misinformation could be spread due to it, as well as the occurrence of other health detriments.