Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's world, shopping through online platforms is on the rise. The deployment of the internet supports people's life to become easier and more effective. Society nowadays uses e-commerce to buy things such as tickets for travelling, home equipment, and even groceries. Dependency on the internet in an increasingly sophisticated world, I strongly believe that using the internet for shopping brings more advantages than disadvantages to society for several reasons. To commence with, in this century, it's rare for people to do shopping in offline stores. Many people believe that it is complicated and usually more expensive. The presence of online platforms really helps society to get their needs, even for the elderly. For instance, in Indonesia, over 50% of older people start to buy their food and groceries through multi-service platforms such as Gojek, Grab, and Shopee Food. Individuals decide to choose shopping online because there are several options to compare for the same product. Other than that, shopping online is inexpensive and more comparative. On the contrary, society needs to consider the safeness of shopping online. Most of the online platforms provide direct access to bank accounts and it is very dangerous,especially for the elderly. In other words, sharing the card numbers and details might be harmful to the users. For example, there were several cases in Indonesia where hijackers stole money from an online application because the user connect the cards with the application. Therefore, shopping using the internet might sometime lead to a bigger and more problematic issue. In conclusion, buying things on the Internet in all parts of the world become more popular. Shopping online brings a positive impact on facilitating human life. However, However, due to the sophistication of technology, people need to be cautious of online schemes and fraud.