Q. Many cities/metropolitan areas/towns are now turning parks/public gardens and farmland into new housing developments. Is this a positive or negative development?

The number of people living in cities has increased as it provides better opportunities for both education and employment. It is suggested that parks and other green areas in the areas should be changed to accommodation. However, without parks in town, stress can be found more in society and might lead to an increasing number of dangers in urban areas. To begin with, people in the cities will have fewer public spaces for relaxation after studying and working as most parks will be changed into housing areas. For example, stress from work can be reduced by exercising at the parks which also helps create strong physical and mental health for individuals who live in the urban area. As a result, the community will be more lively because people will be stress-free and healthy due to the fact that they have some spaces for their relaxing activities. Furthermore, changing all parks into housing areas can create packed communities which can negatively impact the whole cities in terms of uncleanliness and violence. For instance, packed areas in the society tend to come with violent issues such as increasing drugs and crime rates which is caused by the higher number of criminals living in the metropolitan area. Hence, household development can adversely affect areas where there are no appropriate laws used to control the communities. In conclusion, transformations of all public spaces to living areas will generate stress for the population because there are fewer ways to relax and entertain. Similarly, packed household areas from construction will also exacerbate the communities regarding people’s life qualities in the future.