Some people think advertising may have positive economic effects. Others think it has negative social effects. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Advertising has become a very common phenomenon nowadays, around which people's opinions vary. From my perspective, advertising could both be economically beneficial, and cause unwanted side-effects to the society. On the one hand, there are several reasons for the positive economic merits with regard to advertising. First of all, advertisements are an effective way to inform people about the compelling details of a product. When a new product comes into the market, the company is likely to make advertisements about its particular usage, what it is made of, and why it works better than similar previous goods. Therefore, consumers are provided a wider range of merchandise choices, and can easily select what suits their needs best. Without advertisements, chances are people would waste their money on products that are out-of-date. Furthermore, advertising helps to create a competitive environment for the industry, thus promoting better qualities and innovations. One the other hand, advertising can lead to bad impact on society. For example, when it comes to women clothes, the models who display them are much slimmer than an average female. This may arouse anxiety for body figure, and even a sense of body shame, among those young women who are susceptible towards negative comments. Moreover, some commercial campaigns exaggerate the advantages of their products, so as to make it more attractive among the competitors. Take lipsticks for instance, the beautiful color displayed might only be obvious if the person who tried it on had relatively pale lips, which is not usually the case among most people. As a result, it encourages cheating in cosmetic industry. In conclusion, in terms of advertising, there are advantages commercially, and social drawbacks as well.