Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships that people make? Has this been a positive or negative development?

These days, the advent of technology has brought both benefits and drawbacks to our life, While some agree that communication is likely more convenient than in the past, others think that has some detrimental consequences. In my opinion, there are both positive and negative effects. On the one hand, technology has had a significant impact on relationships in business, education and social life. It can be seen that cooperation between people in different countries is much easier due to the development of social networks. For instance, telephones and the Internet allow business people all over the world to interact without ever meeting each other, or a student now can take video online lessons with a teacher in a different country. Moreover, many people use social networks such as Facebook to make friends and find people who share common interests. Thus, human-assisted technology opens up new opportunities to access information and establish relationships with others even with geographical distance. On the other hand, the availability of new communication technologies can also result in isolating people and discouraging real interaction. Many people tend to have conversations behind their smartphones and hide their feelings rather than face-to-face. For instance, many youngsters choose to make friends online rather than mix with their peers in the real world, and these virtual relationships are a poor substitute for real relationships. Thus, it will lead to losing the art of conversation. In conclusion, technology has certainly revolutionized communication between people in modern life, however, not all the outcomes of this revolution have been positive. If people use technology effectively and efficiently, it can be beneficial for our communication.