Today children spend a lot of their free time watching TV. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this practice?

Nowadays TV is the most common and favorable leisure activity of children. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of TV and provide a logical conclusion. The two main pros of watching TV are learning new and relaxing. Firstly, TV is the most common source of information. People watch the news to learn what happening not only in their country but also all over the world and watch commercials to know about new products in the market. This way television is beneficial to be aware of new films, events and commercial products. Secondly, watching TV is a great source of entertainment. After a long and tiring day TV shows are the best way to relax. Moreover, there are huge variations of shows, thus everyone will find what to watch. For instance, music, sports events, series or movies. However, TV also has some major cons like poor socializing and less physical activity. Children, who spend most of their free time watching TV, lost the opportunity to make friends in real life and find their own place in society. In the future, this child may rise a sociophobe and will face difficulties in communication with others. In addition, watching TV is a static pastime and can lead to problems in physical development. Children should be active to stay healthy and rise normally. To sum up, although watching TV provides a lot of information and relaxation, it is harmful to children`s physical development and socializing. In this case, I believe that these drawbacks of TV outweigh its benefits.