Some feel that movies and tv shows are a good way to study history despite their lack of historical accuracy at times. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people find that there are plenty of historical movies and tv shows which are considered to be a kind of history learning source albeit the inaccuracy of facts sometimes. Personally, I agree with such an opinion. They are good learning opportunities, especially for children as they love watching tv. Besides, such kinds of media attract people to find history fascinating. To begin with, it is undeniable that visual effects in the modern world are overwhelmingly improved. Along with such improvement, comes the magnificent films as “Troy”, “Braveheart” or “The Patriot” which are based on historical backgrounds. Children and youngsters lean towards watching movies rather than reading books imagining the events in their mind’s eyes. As such, kids begin to learn history unknowingly, and perhaps with better concentration as they delve into movies. Another point is the impact of audience attraction which will be discussed as follows. Although movies or tv shows tend to be more dramatic rather than providing with accurate background facts mainly for attracting the audience, they sure can persuade people to explore history. As a child, I was rather interested in Scottish costumes and culture after watching “Braveheart”. I still vividly remember that I was fascinated to find out more on the American Revolution after watching “The Patriot”. In other words, even though books hold the historical accuracy, movies and tv shows catch peoples’ curiosity better. In a nutshell, the good old way of reading books is yet a common way of delivering accurate history. However, with the help of modernization, films and shows are becoming preferable ways to explore history.