It is widely believed that consumerism is vital for the economic well-being of a country. However others feel that consumerism has unacceptable social consequences on a society. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that consumerism is a double-edged sword when it comes to its presence in society. Consumerism can be one of the factors in determining what kind of country we live in. For instance, a country that has a high level of consumerism is categorized as a great one since its people have the ability and resources to buy more things, meaning they have more than average wages compared to other countries. Even though consumerism can help in growing a country's economic level, it can only be done if only people buy local products to support local sellers. That way, the money spent in transactions will only circulate within its country, thus helping the growth of the economic capability of the country itself. However, consumerism might also bring a negative impact on society if people tend to buy products originating from outside the country. Buying products from foreigners will only make the rich become richer. The explanations above also align with my point of view. Consumerism is beneficial if and only if it is done by local buyers and local sellers within the country. Not only the seller will get the revenue but also it will have a positive impact in many fields, especially the field that works in producing raw materials for the stuff they sell. All in all, consumerism is indeed a tricky behaviour, but people can control its effect.