Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

The link between high- sugar artificial food and drinks and health problems such as obesity, diabetes, and cavities has been extensively discussed. However, I disagree that the solution is to raise the price of sugary products. Here are a few reasons why I hold this viewpoint. To begin with, forcing food companies to raise their prices is not a feasible solution.The cheap price that we currently enjoy is the result which consumer's demand and manufacturer's supply meet their consistency. If prices were to increase, it might lower the public's need for food and drinks containing high sugar, and would significantly impact the survival of companies and leave them no choice to lower prices again. Additionally, governments do not have the legitimacy to regulate sugar prices. Unlike putting extra taxes on tobacco and alcohol due to their proven detrimental effects on human health, sugar does no harm to us. It is obvious that what damages our health is the lack of self-discipline and greed. Thus, the reasons for governments to take over this issue from a public benefit perspective are not sufficient and rightful enough. Moreover, there are several ways to tackle excessive sugar intake. For example, governments can increase awareness by placing warning labels on all packages. In addition, tech companies can develop apps to track the amount of snacks and desserts consumed and provide nutritional information. Last but not least, cultivating healthy habits from a young age is also crucial, and governments can regulate the sale of sweets in schools to prevent children from overeating sugar. To summarize, while it is recognized that sugary products may contribute to various health issues, raising their prices is not the best solution. Instead, promoting health awareness and restricting purchases on campus can be effective measures to deal with this issue.