The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since the first car appeared on the road, the number of vehicles boost considerably all around the globe. I believe that the trend of restricting private vehicle use and encouraging alternative transportation is a positive development. On the one hand, the government should set up alternative transportation such as public transportation and rental bicycle system. Firstly, the use of public transportation can lower the release of carbon emissions and improve air quality. Furthermore, public transportation provides a more efficient way to travel, people don’t have to find a parking lot while traveling. Secondly, many cities set up rental bicycle systems which allow citizens to rent a bike around their homes and return it back near the bicycle stop near their destinations. Setting up rental bicycle systems not only releases traffic jam but also help the citizens establish an exercise habit. On the other hand, the authorities around the world should set up international laws to regulate car ownership and use. Some millionaires see cars as luxury items that can show off to others and raise their dignity. They waste their money buying sports cars that are not needed and waste social resources by maintaining luxury cars. In addition, some business person drives their car on their own to work every day. However, there is only one person in those cars, and it takes up a lot of space on the roads to accommodate them. If they travel by bus, metro system, or bicycle, the traffic congestion problem will be reduced. In other words, the government should restrict private vehicle use rates to stop the wasting of social resources and avoid traffic congestion. To sum up, the government should promote alternative forms of transport and control car ownership and use at the same time. The benefits which will be brought by the development make our future completely bright.