Topic: In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of aging populations.

In recent years, a growing number of people have lived longer than before. There are a host of problems behind the phenomenon, and several solutions should be adopted to address these issues As individuals have a longer life, various related troubles can be anticipated. The first matter is the lack of workforce in the future. It could be explained by the fact that older workers commence their retirement period and the rate of younger workers is not adequate to fill in vacancies. Take Japan as an example, where the proportion of elderly citizens has been more superior than the young; as a result, the shortage of labor force has become serious recently. Another problem is burdens on national budgets and reserve funds. The rationale is that a large number of pension and social welfare funds are allocated for this group, who are eligible to receive the amount, after a long time they had paid taxes and insurance. There are varied remedies that authority could take to tackle the concept described above. Firstly, the government could impose some open-door policies to attract foreigners in order to arrive and work. For instance, Canada’s supportive programs were implemented to encourage residents all over the world applying for jobs in Canada, which resulted in alleviating the shortage of new workforce and enriching their national budgets. Secondly, adjusting the retirement age for adult workers, perhaps from 65 to 70 or even 75. Due to the state-of-the-art healthcare system, the old’s health is improved and enhanced; Therefore, they may pursue their occupation and dedicate to the development of the local community continually. In conclusion, various measures can be taken to solve the problems that are certain to arise as the population grows older.