Is it good for children to start using computers from an early age and spend long hours on them? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages. Explain your choice by using specific reasons and detail.

As video games have become more popular and the average number of digital devices in each household has increased recently, children have been spending much more time on their devices compared to the past. I think that this gradual increase could This change definitely has advantages and disadvantages, both of which this essay will attempt to look into. On the one hand, engagement with digital devices at a young age may help children in developing better computer skills. Considering how nowadays almost every job needs an adequate amount of familiarity with computers and certain softwares, getting accustomed to digital platforms could absolutely come in handy for them later in life. Additionally, the already vast market of jobs related to computers and softwares has been consistently expanding for some time. Consequently, children that get enthusiastic and passionate about a certain subject could have an early headstart in their learning progress and have a better chance of becoming successful in their subsequent profession. On the other hand, spending too many hours on a computer has obvious negative effects on the child’s life. Firstly, spending a minimum amount of time outside closed spaces is absolutely essential for everybody’s mental and physical health. Therefore, staying indoors all day may affect the child’s wellbeing. Secondly, children develop their social skills early in their adolesence through interaction with their peers. In the absence or partial neglect of this learning period, children may have difficulty in having satisfactory relationships later in their adulthood. Finally, children that start using computers and other digital devices at an early age are prone to developing an attention deficit problem and could consequently face learning issues at school. In conclusion, I think that the disadvantages of letting children use computers excessively and prematurely outweigh the advantages. As failing to control the amount of time your children spend on a computer may seriously affect their adult life, parents should endeavor to keep an eye out on the amount of time their children are spending on computers.