Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extend do you agree or disagree ?

Higher fuel price is believed to be the most effective way to encounter the mounting problems concerning traffic and contamination. I do not concur with this proposal, and am convinced that there are more constructive alternatives to this solution. In the short term, a rise in petrol price can bring some instantaneous benefits. As the cost of fuel becomes higher, consumers will have to curb the amount of gasoline that they utilize, resulting in a fall in private vehicle usage. However, in the long run, this policy could have a detrimental impact on the economy. Increasing the cost of fuel will lead to a rise in the price of transported commodities, which could trigger a significant decrease in consumer spending and a downturn in trade. Moreover, more devastating effects are likely to be observed in oil-importing countries since they rely mainly on this source to produce their goods. Taking all these reasons into account, there might be some other measures to tackle traffic and pollution issues. Firstly, many alternative energies can replace fuel, namely wind, solar, nuclear, and electricity. For instance, some auto producers such as Toyota or General Motors have decided to manufacture electric cars to minimize the amount of exhaust fumes released into the atmosphere. Secondly, governments should provide more funding for improving traffic systems and public transportation amenities (subway stations, bus stops). In conclusion, the increase in petrol price does not turn out to be a holistic approach to current situations. Therefore, it is more plausible to invest in other sources of energy as well as develop efficient public transport infrastructure.