Some people say cultural traditions are destroyed when they are used as money-making attractions aimed at tourists. Others say this is the only way to save such traditions. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Tourism is a great way of increasing revenue and sharing the host country or city`s history and traditions. There is a point of view that considers this business as a threat to cultural habits with the only intention being to make money, while I believe that it can be a form of promoting a culture and preserving traditions. This essay will discuss both perspectives and highlight why I argue that tourism has a beneficial impact on cultural preservation. Going on holiday is an event carefully planned by many of us, during this time we are usually exposed to various ways of seeing the world, different traditions, languages, and eating habits. While some Asian cultures are more reserved and extremely aware of the impact of their behaviour on people around them, western cultures are more laid back and laud. Unfortunately, a small percentage of these tourists do whatever they want without critically thinking about their presentation and its consequences. These differences were the roots of several issues faced by small villages in China. Even though behaviours like the previous example do not respect the foreign culture and at the same time do not assist in preserving it, I believe that they are a tiny percentage of reality. When promoting tourism, governments are investing in the local community, consequently, investing in the preservation of regional traditions and cultural events. For instance, a local government in Germany funded a festival to showcase the local farming tradition. The advertisement was focused on not only spreading the event and its information but also on educating visitors about the local traditions. The results were a 40% increase in tourism from this time onwards, and no major problems reported so far. To conclude, tourism is a money-making business that can potentially lead to several problems depending on the tourist the location is receiving, however, these are not common issues. That is why I believe that investing in tourism and in educating tourists is a way to empower cultures and traditions while positively impacting the local economy.