Advertisements have impacted our modern world. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of advertisements.

In today's world, it is true that we are increasingly surrounded by advertising, which plays a unique role in marketing strategies. Although advertisements have some benefits, there are also a few drawbacks which will be discussed in the following paragraphs. To begin with, adverts are extremely vital not only for business but also for the country's economy as well. The advertising industries themselves create numerous job opportunities in various sectors such as manufacturing, distribution, and retail, which lead to a higher economic growth rate in countries. For instance, these require graphic designers, copywriters, marketing managers, and more. In addition, social campaigns and public service advertisements raise awareness about critical issues like health, the environment, and safety. In other words, these advertisements have the potential to influence individuals to have proficient attitudes about challenges like deforestation, infectious diseases, and mental health crisis. Therefore, it can be seen why many are in support of advertising. On the other hand, advertisements can provide misleading information about products to exaggerate their merits, leading to false expectations. This would reduce consumers' trust as well as their desire to buy goods. For example, some companies may use deceptive environmental claims to make their products seem much more eco-friendly than they actually are. Moreover, some advertisements for goods such as alcohol, cigarettes, and unhealthy food might promote addictive habits and contribute to public health concerns like obesity, asthma, and lung cancer. That is why advertising should be controlled by authorities. To conclude, while advertisements can enhance business growth and increase fellow citizens' consciousness, they also may provide false information about their products and foster addictive behaviours in the public.