Public celebrations (such as national days, festivals etc) are held in most countries. These are often quite expensive and some people say that governments should spend money on more useful things. Do you agree or disagree?

With the development of society, public celebrations are held in most countries. Nowadays, an issue that has fuelled a heated debate is whether some people say that governments should spend money on more useful things. I strongly agree that spending money on public celebrations is necessary. In this essay, I will discuss how public celebrations can help spread culture and show international status in the world. Firstly, public celebrations can help spread the country's culture internationally, such as Christmas, Thanksgiving and Halloween. For instance, Christmas Day is the biggest Christian festival in Britain, its meaning is to commemorate the birth of Jesus. Nowadays, almost all countries have Christmas. Frankly, British culture spread to the world. Moreover, Christmas time will increase tourism revenue and merchandise sales. Hence, public celebrations have the advantage of spreading culture. Secondly, public celebrations show international status in the world, such as China's Army Day. This is because the more luxurious the festival, the stronger the national power. For example, according to the Chinese government, they spent a total of 1 billion yuan on Army Day performances in 2010, which put China's military power on display to the world. Obviously, It is necessary to invest in it. Thus, spending money on public celebrations can show national power to the world. In conclusion, spending money on public celebrations have advantage and disadvantage. I strongly agree that countries should invest money in it. With the development of the national economy, the country will spend more money on public celebrations in the future.