Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

With the increasing number of motor vehicles worldwide, road safety has become a major concern, which therefore fuels a debate about whether punitive measures or other methods are more effective in making the road safer. From my perspective, more actions should be considered to tackle the problem of threatening pedestrians. On the one hand, punishments for unsafe driving behaviours play a key role in securing people’s safety on roads. For one thing, law-breakers would think twice before violating road laws, such as over-speeding, or running a red light, if they are aware of the severe consequences punished strictly by the authorities. For example, speeding is fined heavily in some countries such as Australia, America and so on, which urges drivers to drive safely, thus reducing the car accident rate. For another, punishing measures are more easily and effectively implemented in reality, which cannot only give everyone who is behind the wheel a better understanding of the results of violating the law but also traffic officers ticket for offences in a proper manner. On the other hand, penalties such as fines and license suspension may not be the only means of strengthening the awareness of safe driving. To begin with, people from wealthy families who drive cars would ignore the risk of being fined with a high charge, which in turn may trigger them to drive furiously. For example, many celebrities such as famous footballers and movie stars in the UK and US are fined for drunk driving or speeding, which, however, eclipses the influence of punishing law-breakers. As a result, it is vitally important to educate people properly before they steer wheels so that they are able to follow regulations on roads actively and become self-disciplined. Furthermore, high technologies be wielded to keep an eye on all roads thereby deterring drivers from violating laws. For instance, surveillance cameras make it possible to record all law-breaking behaviours on roads. In conclusion, although punitive actions enforced by the law play a key role in regulating driving behaviours and lessening the possibility of traffic accidents, it is better to take more measures into consideration.