Cycling has many benefits, yet in some countries , there is a decrease in the number of people using bicycles as their main form of transportation . Why is it happening? Give suggestions on how to encourage people to use bicycles again.

Nowadays, fewer and fewer people use bicycles for transportation. This essay will discuss the main problems associated with this action and propose some possible solutions. The main reasons for not using bicycles as the main form of transportation are the amount of wasted time and the lack of comfort. Firstly, by travelling by car or by bus, individuals save a lot of time and energy, and that is a big factor in the decision. For example, the same route takes 5 hours by bicycle and 1 hour by bus. Secondly, other forms of transport besides bikes are more comfortable. Furthermore, to practice them,individuals do not need motivation and energy. Some possible ways of encouraging the population to use bikes as transportation are giving them free stuff for the effort and offering free bicycles for individuals who cannot afford them. If the government would give free food to people who need cycles, a bigger part of the population would make that effort. Also, there are people who cannot afford a cycle and, by giving them free ones, they will start using them as their main way of conveying. In conclusion, human beings do not usually use bikes for travelling because this action wastes their time and their feeling of comfort. The most effective way to encourage them is by offering them gifts for doing so and by giving free cycles to those who cannot afford them.