International sporting events are costly and bring problems to the hosting country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some may argue that hosting an international sporting ceremony can be costly and it will create many problems for the hosting nation.I completely disagree with this statement as Facilitating an international sporting event that brings numerous benefits to the country such as development of infrastructure facilities while promoting tourism within the nation. On the one hand, to facilitate an international sporting competition, the host should improve their infrastructure provisions as per the standards of international sporting authority or council. Although it is costly, those improved facilities will remain for decades even after the event and the citizens will get the benefits of improved amenities for decades.As an example, being the host of the South Asian Games in 2009, Sri Lanka redeveloped the road network, stadiums, sports clubs and auditoriums in Colombo city and,still the nation is being benefited by those amenities. On the other hand, when an international sports occation happening in a country, the fans of the sports from all over the world tend to visit the hosting country and that will automatically boosts the tourism industry while bringing foreign currency to the nation. The Fans from all over the world may watch the event on TV or the Internet and that will also be beneficial to attract potential visitors in the future. For instance, When Sri Lanka hosted T20 Cricket World Cup in 2020, many fans from all over the world visited Sri Lanka and also reveals the beauty of the through documentaries which helped uplift tourism. In conclusion, facilitating international sporting events impacts countries positively because; although hosting requires more budget, the facilities improved through hosting will remain in the country.It also attracts visitors while uplifting tourism through revealing the beauty of the nation easily and effectively.