Today tourism is one of the world’s biggest industries, and many poorer countries are depending more and more on tourism for their economy. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of having a large number of tourists visiting a country?

Nowadays, the industry of tourism represents one of the best ways to enhance the economy of a country. However, sometimes many less-developed states could be influenced negatively by the huge quantity of people that spend holidays inside their borders. In the following essay, I will delve which are the advantages and drawbacks of tourism and I’ll explain my opinion. First and foremost, when viewed from the economic perspective, it is evident that tourism helps countries with minor resources to reach a better financial situation. However, the development of tourism doesn’t mean that the population increases their quality of life. As a matter of fact, normally tourists prefer to visit beaches and cost landscapes with the result that local people are pushed to move to these areas leaving countryside regions empty. For example, according to an article from the Economist during the last two decades, Thailand has known the worst agriculture crisis of its history, because people moved from the countryside to find a job related to beach tourism. Moreover, if we have to consider the negative impact of tourism on the pollution of a less developed country. It is hard to reckon that places where normally there is a population of only a few hundred inhabitants can manage the rubbish produced by a thousand people. For this reason, most of the time these countries have drastic problems with pollution due to the tourism advent. For instance, in the early 2000s, the seaside in Thailand was spotless, right now there are some areas that are really dirty because of pollution. In conclusion, tourism can be both beneficial and detrimental for a country. In my opinion, we need to be careful and not forget that first of all as tourists, it is fundamental to respect local people and the environment where we travel. Furthermore, political administrations have to build good systems to cover all the necessities that this phenomenon creates.