You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some museums and art galleries charge admission fees, while others have free entry. Do you think the advantages of charging for admission outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Whilst some believe that they should be available to people for exploration at no cost, I believe if not substantial, at least a nominal amount must be charged. In this essay, I will explain why I feel that entry at such places should not be free. To begin with, when people are allowed at such places at no charge, it would result in a large crowd. This is because people love it when they get to do something for free. Amongst this crowd, there would be a few who would be true art enthusiasts, for whom even an ordinary piece of art would be the work of wonder, and there would be others who might have come just to stroll around in their leisure time. As a result, those who have come here with the sheer purpose of educating themselves will not be able to explore the place in peace. Moreover, there is a saying, "When you pay, you pay attention", which means people tend to pay more attention when they have paid a price for something. For example, during my school, I faced a lot of difficulty in understanding topics of history. Hence, my father used to take me to the museum located right in the heart of my city. This helped me to clear my doubts regarding the subject, but every time I went there, he kept on emphasizing the fact, that I needed to make the most out of the visit as we had paid a huge amount as an entrance fee. Furthermore, the government and the authorities who are in charge of maintaining these places need some funding to do their work efficiently. If they stop charging any money, they will have to reduce the facilities and other amenities. Additionally, people who are actually interested in exploring such places don't mind paying fees. For instance, my sister works in a school and every time the school arranged trips to such places, she noticed that all the students who were really intrigued to know more about art and history readily paid the nominal fees for the visits. For the reasons I have outlined above, I really do believe that there is nothing wrong with paying money to acquire knowledge from museums, as indeed they are the knowledge centres that help people understand their culture and religion. This practice would also keep those who visit such places just for entertainment, providing an opportunity for better exploration to others. In my opinion, the pros of this practice definitely outweigh its cons.