Most teenagers today own a smartphone. Provide your opinion to discuss the advantages and disadvantages

In the modern era, technology has taken the world by storm. The omnipresence of cell phones in youth has proved to have both positive and negative effects on their lifestyle. Also, I will portray the facts by demonstrating the research and studies done by the "Science Institute," and "Oxford University". In addition, a concrete answer is given below to portray the advantages and disadvantages of teenagers owning this device. On the one hand, smartphone technology has given a new dimension of learning to teenagers. Firstly, learning applications such as (BYJUs) and OTT (Over-The-Top) platforms including Netflix help the age group between 7-15 years to enhance their knowledge. Secondly, communication has become easier than before which helps children to cope with their studies. To support my saying, a recent study by "Oxford University" depicts a 13% increase in grades of school-going children since the advancements in smartphones as they have lots of new features. Besides this, teens can rejuvenate their minds by listening to songs in their free time which has helped this generation to be more efficient than before. On the other hand, the fact that excessive use of smartphones leads to serious health issues can not be denied. To add on, the spare time should be utilized to focus on personal health, however, teenagers choose to spend it on mobile phones. What's more, parents often hand over these devices to their children at a young age which leads to loss of eye-sight as well. To illustrate, the latest research by the "Science Institute" shows an 8% increase in obesity among the young age group. Further, long sitting hours in front of the panoramic screens may lead to a sudden weight increase due to a lack of outdoor activities. In a nutshell, every coin has two sides, and so do smartphones. Although it has proved to be a life-changing invention, however, its use should be limited. I think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages if used correctly.