Some educationalist think that international exchange visits will benefit teenagers at schools. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

People argue that International student exchange will bring benefits for the students, while others say that the negative impacts will outweigh the benefits. Personally, I believe that the advantages are clear rather than the disadvantages because it will develop confidence and respect among the students. To begin, student exchange provides an opportunity for teenagers to meet a new culture together with new people. By, this I mean that while they are living in new environments they will build confidence in order to adapt to it. For example, an Indonesian student who never went abroad exchanges with a British student. It is a fact that both Indonesia and Britain have significant differences in cultures, such as languages, communication styles and education systems. Although it is hard to adapt to a new culture, they have no choice so they have to build the confidence to live there. Moreover, the experiences that they bring back when they come back to their own country also will support their confidence. Furthermore, living in a new environment means that they will live together with a new kind of people who have different beliefs. This means that the way of praying and doing religious activities also will have a big difference in both countries. For instance, Indonesia which is the biggest Muslim country in the world and India which is dominated by Hinduism will have a gap in the way they pray. An Indian who visits Indonesia for exchange will surprised because Muslims have to pray five times each day, which means that sometimes Indonesian pupils will have a break to pray, even though in the middle of class. However, the way Indian people respect Indonesian Muslims for their beliefs is an example of how respect is grown during their visits. In conclusion, the student exchange means that they have to live in a new environment with new cultures and some possible differences in beliefs. In the effort to adapt, the teenagers will grow their confidence while showing respect for different religions will develop their respect itself.