◦ ‘The government should restrict violent content in the media’ Discuss

Nowadays, media content contains violence to attract the audience’s attention and influence people to commit more crimes and violence. Therefore, some people recommend authorities should limit the violent content in media to combat violence in society. Firstly, every form of media should not be controlled by the government due to this would affect the freedom of expression. However, in many countries, they have age rate for different content clearly instead of banning all violent content, so the audiences can decide for themselves if they want to watch them, or even if they allow their children to watch them. For example, in Thailand, the TV channel before they present the content, they shows the age rating. Therefore, viewers know what to expect and decide to do so. In addition, violent content is not the main cause of high crimes in society.Individual problems such as lack of education, and poverty have the greatest contribution to the elevated rate of violence. For instance, all citizens in society watch the same violent content but not all of them will commit the crime due to the content that they have seen. However, controlling by the government will provide a positive impact for kids, They are the most vulnerable group for sensitive content on media due to they do have not the maturity to think and they might not distinguish between the show and the real world. The violent content might influence them to duplicate that action and lead to violence in society.