Children can learn effectively by watching television. Therefore they should be encouraged to regularly watch television whether at home or school. Do you agree or disagree?

Education is unquestionably one of the most prevalent and worrying issues in any society, and its management should be taken seriously. Of course, it is important to involve a variety of methods in order to improve the process of learning. However, despite a few benefits of television, I consider this option not to be suitable for everyone. On the one hand, there are some advantages of watching television which could definitely have a positive impact on students. Firstly, there are a lot of great channels which provide different news and theories, therefore children could eventually receive new knowledge. For instance, channels like Discovery contain a lot of exciting and useful information which is significant for the development of a young brain. Secondly, there are a few channels showing the programme in foreign languages, so using them could be a good opportunity for students who are studying a second language. Consequently, teachers could highly recommend watching it in order to influence learning and improve some skills. On the other hand, I agree that this method could be misused and bring some negative consequences. To begin with, nowadays there is a lot of inappropriate content that could have violent or sexual episodes, therefore it should not be watched by young individuals. Moreover, it is difficult enough to limit the approach to some kinds of films or serials, so sometimes this problem cannot be solved by installing the application providing some parental control. Furthermore, light from a screen has a horrible impact on people's eyes due to the fact that it destroys some anatomical structures. As a consequence, a lot of children have problems with their eyes even during their childhood. For example, there is a lot of scientific research which have already shown a positive correlation between vision quality and the number of hours spent looking at some gadget. To conclude, despite varying opinions, I reckon that pupils should not be encouraged to regularly watch some programmes due to their harmful effect on physical and mental health.