In many cities the use of video camera in publich places is being increased in order to reduce crime but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom, do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks.

Driven by implementations of high technologies worldwide, the installation of surveillance cameras has proliferated in many cities, thus triggering concerns about whether it would place restrictions on our freedoms. From my perspective, we are able to see more benefits than drawbacks from the trend, believing that the infringement of individual freedom can be addressed in a proper manner. There is no doubt that residents would feel uncomfortable when they pay a visit to a public place, because of knowing that they are surveilled over there. For one thing, the watchdogs are able to trace their whereabouts through CCTV cameras added in public places so many people are reluctant to show up over there in a bid to escape from the following and recording, thus curtailing individual freedoms. For another, many electronic devices instilled on streets are connected to the internet, which in turn may be threatened by the “backdoor” that hackers are able to access to servers so that innocent people are exposed to lawbreakers. As a result, people have to watch out to protect themselves from privacy exposure. However, the issues discussed above can be solved with proper measures. To begin with, personal privacy should be well-protected, meaning that watchdogs should not have the power to check out the data involved if they are not permitted by authorities. Furthermore, the government can update cyber security to isolate the data regarding privacies from leakage. More importantly, surveillance devices covered in public places cannot only reduce crimes there but also make residents feel more free. On the one hand, it can deter criminals from committing crimes since they know police officers are watching them. On the other hand, dwellers can pay a visit to any public place at any time because they are safe enough under the protection of the monitoring system as a result of enjoying more freedom individually. In conclusion, while it may place a limitation on individual freedom, surveillance cameras do more good than harm.