Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

Clothing is one of the basic needs of every human being. The original purpose of clothing was to safeguard the body from environmental factors, such as heat, cold, Serpens, etc. However, some believe that there’s a greater possibility to link someone’s culture and character to what they wear. Nonetheless, this essay disagrees with this opinion. Because clothing has become an appearance enhancer in today’s context. Also, people decide on what they wear relating to the event and the requirements. Fashion has become a broader concept, creating a greater opportunity for a bigger choice for people in what they wear. Also, fashion does change over time adding more characteristics with modernization. People with public image and attraction set new fashion trends. It is a new trend, to wear multicultural dresses to improve outlook. As an example, in Sri Lanka Sinhalese ladies choose sarees worn by Tamil ladies for functions due to their vibrant colours. In such instances, a person having the aforementioned thinking would go wrong. Further, opinion on dress code differs based on the event, requirement, and disposable income. As an example, a person would wear official attire for an office irrespective of his/her culture or character. In other words, one wouldn’t wear the same clothing for a wedding and for a funeral. Furthermore, humans would choose winter clothes during winter and summer clothes in summer. One’s buying powder is directly related to the quality and variety of dresses. Accordingly, this, justifies that the initial thinking is misleading to link with clothing with culture and character. In conclusion, a person’s background and qualities cannot be defined based on the dress code, because dressing is all about developing outer image and linked with the situation and necessity.