In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The majority of people today feel that printed newspapers or books are something from the past. I completely agree. The technological revolution has made anything printed on papers seems like an outdated thing. Therefore, people now prefer to read newspapers, books or even study using electronic devices only. In this essay, I will discuss the various reasons that made people switch from using paper to devices.  Nearly every newspaper company has an online website, and almost any book out there has an electronic PDF version online. This has made it even more convenient to people so they can have access to the newspaper or books at any time and any place by a click on their phones rather than walking to the store or library to get them. Even though the traditional newspapers are relatively cheap, many individuals prefer to get them online because having them free seems even more convenient. On the other hand, while some books have the same prices online as the printed ones, people would still rather choose the online version just to avoid the trouble of going to actual places searching for them. In the future, companies will not print newspapers or books due to economic reasons, since individuals will be no longer interested in buying them. This will definitely have enormous impacts both positive and negative. For example, the percentage of deforestation worldwide will dramatically decrease which will save the environment. On the other hand, one of the most negative impacts is that the people who are working in the paper industry or newspaper factories will lose their jobs since the world is switching to online versions. Many authors will suffer copywriting issues whereas some people will leake their books online for free which will surely lead authors and companies to financial crisis due to the loss of their sales since their work is out there for free. If the governments do not strictly prohibit such issues, companies will suffer. In conclusion, the world is already switching everything possible to online versions due to their convenience. In the near future, printed books and newspapers will be considered as an old-fashioned industry that is no longer popular or even used. Societies have already made their choice of this electronic conversion whether its benefits outweigh its downsides. We need to adapt to this new conversion anyway, and set clear rules and regulations for those involved in the industry to ensure that this change won't be a concern to anyone and save individuals' rights.