More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people say that the price increase of fattening foods will solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the new era, a growing issue of people becoming dangerously overweight. To solve the above problem, one school of thought holds that some people propose increasing the cost of high-calorie foods. While I accept that their perception is somewhat justifiable, I believe that individuals should also be self-conscious about their own weight status. On the one hand, the growth of fattening food prices is applied as a public policy in each country that could be beneficial to their society as a whole. This is because payable cost fluctuations affect people's consumption. Consumers tend to choose products based on their budget, so an increase in the payable cost of a product contributes to a decrease in consumer purchasing. However, fatty foods are mostly essential commodities, even if they increase, they are still affordable for families. For instance, according to a survey conducted by the Department of Consumer Protection, KFC fried chicken stores in Vietnam have increased their prices five times in a recent decade. Especially, its sales have not decreased, on the contrary, it has increased eight times since 2014. As a result, it is difficult to say that it helps to limit obesity in the community. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that individuals should also be responsible for their weight status. First, each person must raise their awareness of products that they will buy and use. For example, consumers can look at the amount of fat recorded on the label of packages before purchasing to ensure their nutritional needs are in each meal. Furthermore, a healthy diet should be a considerable choice for every family, such as a combination of fibre, fats, and carbohydrates. We know that fat is also an important nutrient that has been proven necessary for the human body. Therefore, if it is removed from the menu, it is not necessarily a good thing. In conclusion, whilst it is irrefutable that increasing the price of fattening foods is a simple solution to the problem of individuals becoming overweight, I would contend that it fails to address the root causes of the issue and some they should put effort into adjusting their diet.